Unit 2 Library

My relationship with the library has grown and shifted as I’ve gotten older, and I’ve always considered it a place to relax or study. This has remained true, however my visits to the library have gotten less and less frequent throughout the years. When I was younger I used to love to read, as it was a means to escape the life I was living at the time. By no means was I in a harmful environment. However, when I found myself having difficulties in my life, books were a wonderful means to forget about my troubles and feel as though I were living a different life. The amount of books I read really helped my growth as a writer, and I’m very glad that I chose reading as my hobby. I don’t believe my writing would be nearly as strong as it is now if I hadn’t  read as much as I did in the past. I wasn’t allowed to use technology very much at the time, but when I got older, that began to change. Eventually I preferred to watch videos online, or play music, instead of reading. These days, I mainly use the library when I need to study, or catch up on a lot of work. I usually like to study in private environments, so I usually try to work at home. However, sometimes it can be difficult for me to work at home because I’m sometimes easily distracted. Usually by technology, as I tend to prefer scrolling through social media platforms instead of focusing on my tasks. So when I’m in the library, being around people also doing work pushes me to stay focused.

Leave a comment